Finding a Foundation for Success: Jemeika’s Story

jemeikaupload

THANK YOU DONORS AND SUPPORTERS:  With your help this year 182 men and women have obtained permanent or long term jobs through the MCC’s supportive employment program.  Did you know that for every homeless person who obtains permanent work taxpayers save up to $40,000 a year in service payments?  That’s a total of $7.28 MILLION DOLLARS !  

Meet one young lady who is “very excited” to be named on the MCC’s permanent job achievement list: Jemeika.

Soon, Jemeika will start a new permanent job with full benefits – but the road to stability was a long one. It all started at Century Link stadium.

“I noticed a long line of people checking in to work at Century Link Stadium and asked ‘who is doing that?'” It was the Millionair Club Charity.“So I came to the MCC and enrolled in the employment program. The MCC staff treats you really fair – they don’t discriminate if you’re homeless.  They are such a good resource to lay your foundation for success.

“When you need help, it’s really hard when you have to go to so many places to get the resources you need. I needed a cell phone, food handler’s card, and prescription eye glasses; I got all of these through the  MCC – and they paid for it.”

“Then I started in day labor working the Century Link Stadium games. But what I really wanted was a stable job for me and my son. Then I heard about the Street Ambassador program at the Metropolitan Improvement District (MID) and thought, ‘I could do that.’ It’s a decent job.”

“If you know a homeless person, you should tell them to go get some help at the MCC. I see these people struggling and they don’t need to struggle. I know how hard it is to keep pushing for what you need. If they’re consistent in coming to the MCC and open to different jobs, they won’t have to worry about how they’re going to pay their bills.

“And if you have a paycheck, you can utilize it in several areas to overcome barriers. Like, having a record of your paychecks can get you into housing. I would like to tell the donors for this program that their money is going into a good place that is geared to helping people.”

Jemeika is starting as a Street Ambassador at the MID, but says she has ambitions to work hard and be promoted. “I’m excited,” she told us with a smile.

Leave a Reply

